Where i currently am

Well to start with, I can say that the DHE procedure, did help, a little. I say a little because whilst in hospital, my migraines had dropped from a 7-9 to a 4-5 I think it was, which is quite a dramatic drop for me. It’s been a very long time since the pain has been that low, however the night of all the issues with nurses not knowing what they were doing etc, my stress level went through the roof and so did my pain level.

The other thing is that I am no longer taking the co codamol, which really was the main reason for having the DHE anyway, now I can’t say if it was the med in the IV that helped with this, because I wasn’t really being given any co codamol the first couple of days anyway, so was having to handle the agony anyway. Plus, it wasn’t an addiction, it was a dependency, i only took it for the pain I was constantly in, but never took more than my maximum daily dose and didn’t start withdrawal if I missed a dose …… but the fact remains, I am no longer taking the painkiller, which is a good thing

Bad thing, at no stage did anyone mention that i was experience withdrawal symptoms from ceasing the painkiller, no-one at all. Me, well I didn’t really expect it because like I said, it was dependency and not addiction …… but i did, about a month long withdrawal and it was ugly, to be honest i can’t remember ever little symptom now, but some i do remember was the constant hot and cold, the agitated, the shakes, just to name a few and they were very hard to cope with, so hard in fact that my doctor prescribed a 5 day tapered off dose of diazipan to help me. He explained a few things to us as he didn’t understand why I’d not been informed that I would go through withdrawal symptoms.

So now, I’m still having pain, some days are still horrendous and some days are just copable, when needed I take ibuprofen or naproxen, which is mainly around my hormonal time as this is when it gets worse. I also asked my GP to try me back on Topamax, now that I’m not taking the co codamol, am hoping that maybe it’ll help a little, plus, if i can bypass the hospital, then all the better, after everything i went through! unfortunately so far, there has been some problems and I’m not sure if they are a result of the med or not, but am sticking with it and with any luck, it’ll help

Your thoughts and comments